Robert Long House - 812 South Ann Street
This house, the oldest existing residence in Baltimore (1765), is the headquarters of the Society for the Preservation of Federal Hill and Fells Point. The Society was formed in the 1970s as an outgrowth of the fight to "Stop the Road" -- a community-based effort to save Fells Point from a planned freeway. The painstakingly restored building originally served merchant Robert Long as both house and business office for his nearby wharf (Long was a quartermaster for the Continental Navy). Today visitors can see rooms furnished as they may have been in Revolutionary War times -- parlor, bed room, and office. In summer, the garden is as fragrant with herbs as it was when the Longs lived here.